23.10.2022 – Konsta Lappalainen collect two medal positions from international GT-racing series – Flying Finn very happy for collecting bronze medals in ADAC GT Masters and GT World Challenge Endurance racing series

2nd generation racing driver Konsta Lappalainen, age of 20, collect two bronze medals from his second-ever season in international GT Racing series; Three weeks ago he celebrated bronze medal in final round of GT World Challenge Endurance Silver Cup series and now in German Hockenheimring he continued celebrations with ADAC GT Masters Juniors series. Lappalainen and his austrian team mate Mick Wishofer also had a big role for their Emil Frey Racing which eventually won Teams title in their first-ever competition season in ADAC GT Masters.

In 7th meeting of ADAC GT Masters and altogether in 12th round for Lappalainen in season 2022 the Flying Finn made his best-ever result in qualifying. Therefore 4th starting position for Saturdays’ race was the key for silver podium position in one hour race. As in Sundays’ race he and Wishofer rised from 11th position to 5th in overall classifications, they managed to secure enough points for the silver medal of ADAC GT Masters juniors series.

Lappalainen was more than happy for his season 2022 campaign in international GT Racing series and also for the superb results he had collect in his second-ever season among top manufacturer drivers.

– As we entered this final round of ADAC GT Masters we knew that we had to make perfect drives to rise from 6th position into medals. We also knew that five fellow competitors had exactly same goals as we had and therefore there would be lots of action in both races. And so it happened that thru our windscreen we could see many crashes and offs our fellow encountered. As we avoided all drama and were very competitive in both races, we feel that we have truly earned the bronze medal, Lappalainen tells.

– As a big bonus we got a big responsibility from our Emil Frey Racing team as there were also Teams title to be taken. Fortunately our job was enough to deliver enough points also for the team to secure their first-ever ADAC GT Masters title. Therefore Hockenheimring provided us a perfect end to a very successful season. And also for me it was very important that now in two years my performance is same as manufacturer drivers. Ofcourse there are still small things to be improved, but we’ll get as soon as we’ve celebrated these two medals with my sponsors, partners as well as with my background team, Lappalainen continues.

There were also two fellow Finns competing in final racing weekend of ADAC GT Masters. Jesse Krohn was forced to retire in Saturdays’ race due technical difficulties. However in Sunday he finished race just behind Konsta Lappalainen. In Saturday Elias Seppänen kept 10th fastest pace in overall and in Sunday he was forced to retire due a puncture.

ADAC GT Masters Hockenheimring, Saturday 22nd October 2022: Overall Top-3:

1. Christian Engelhart (GER) & Ayhancan Guven (TUR), Porsche 911 GT3 R, 36 laps
2. Arthur Rougier (FRA) & Frank Perreira (FRA), Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO, +3,474s
3. Maximilian Paul (GER) & Marco Mapelli (ITA), Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO, +5,073s

6. Konsta Lappalainen (FIN) & Mick Wishofer (AUT), Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO, +7,588s

ADAC GT Masters Hockenheimring, Sunday 23rd October 2022: Overall Top-3:

1. Fabian Schiller (GER) & Jules Gounon (FRA), Mercedes-AMG GT3, 36 laps
2. Jusuf Owega (GER) & Ricardo Feller (SUI), Audi R8 LMS EVO II GT3, +1,892s
3. Maximilian Paul (GER) & Marco Mapelli (ITA), Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO, +3,525s
4. Christian Engelhart (GER) & Ayhancan Guven (TUR), Porsche 911 GT3 R, +4,903s
5. Konsta Lappalainen (FIN) & Mick Wishofer (AUT), Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO, 5,865s

ADAC GT Masters 2022 final standings 14/14 rounds, Juniors Top-5:

1. Ben Green (GBR), Schubert Motorsport, 253p
2. Niklas Krütten (GER), Schubert Motorsport, 231p
3. Konsta Lappalainen (FIN) & Mick Wishofer (AUT), Emil Frey Racing, 208,5p
4. Fabian Schiller (GER), Drago Racing Team ZVO, 188p
5. Kim-Luis Schramm (GER), Rutronik Racing, 188p